I Can Be Thin by Then – Can’t I?

i can be thin by then cant iI Can Be Thin by Then – Can’t I?

Even though I write a blog entitled THRIVE ANY WEIGHT and I coach others to live a life they love in spite of what size they are, that doesn’t mean I don’t occasionally yearn to have a better body for an upcoming event. There are so many levels to wanting to lose weight before a making some sort of a public appearance, whether it be a wedding, reunion, celebration, public speaking event. I know many go through this and I guess I wondered if our thought process was similar. Add any of your additions below and let’s see who relates. Thanks

So this is my thought process.

  • I hear about the event and commit to going
  • Somewhere a long the line I decide I want to look better for it
  • I envision a new outfit and being complimented for the way I look
  • I imagine being the belle of the ball
  • I think about doing something everyday but the more I do, the less successful I am
  • I begin to get frantic as the time gets closer
  • I start to renegotiate my options – (maybe I can lose 10 pounds if I start today)
  • As the day gets closer I beat myself up a bit for not taking action
  • I consider not going
  • I throw in the towel and say, Oh well, I will just look frumpy one more time.
  • I dread the event getting closer
  • I scrounge to find something tolerable to wear
  • I go feeling ‘less than’
  • I have no more than an ‘OK’ time
  • I can’t wait to go home
  • I vow never to do this again

I am not sure if I can promise not to have this debilitating scenario happen again. What I can promise is this. I will implement the following into the process.

My New Process:

  • I will look forward to a fun event
  • I will look as wonderful as possible
  • I will sit up straight, smile and be noticed
  • I will be a shining star
  • I will be social and dance and feel alive
  • I will appreciate who I am and all of my magnificence
  • I will feel the energy of the day and my entitlement to be there just the way I am
  • I will have the best time
  • I will accept more invitations to do the same

Enjoy your life, no matter what your size. You are much more than your weight.

Enthusiastically,

Fran

Read This weeks Diary of a Mad Dieter

i pray i lose 100 lbs before the wedding